

3100 Broadway, Suite 1211 Kansas City, MO 64111 816.472.5800

Fax: 816.472.5909 Email: kcpsrs@kcpsrs.org Website: www.kcpsrs.org

#### MINUTES OF MEETING

## Monday, January 10, 2022

The Board of Trustees of the Kansas City Public School Retirement System met in REGULAR SESSION on Monday, January 10, 2022, at 4:00 p.m. via Zoom. Meeting held electronically due to social distancing requirements related to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Members Present (via Zoom): Anthony Madry, Chairperson

Lauren Amicone Mark Bedell Cecelia Carter Horace Coleman, Jr. Jamekia Kendrix Roger Offield Beverly Pratt Curtis L. Rogers Debbie Siragusa Eddie Smith

Staff Present (via Zoom): Jim Roehner, Executive Director

Mary Myers Laura J. Oswald

Brian Welch

Others Present (via Zoom): Jonathan N. Dilly, Swanson Bernard

Rosemary Guillette, Segal Marco Advisors

Nancy Giddens, Shannon Cooper, Giddens Group

Sam Hooper, with. Intelligence

There being a quorum present, the meeting was called to order at 4:03 p.m.

Mr. Coleman, Jr, Chairperson presiding:

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Pratt the Board voted to approve the following items on the consent agenda:

Approval of the minutes of the Investment Committee meeting held on Monday, December 6, 2021

Approval of the minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees held Monday, December 6, 2021

Approval of cash disbursements for the month of November 2021

Approval of the report of the Secretary submitting the names of members retiring since last report including dates of retirement

Approval of the report of the Secretary submitting the names of members who have passed away since the last report

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Pratt, the Board acknowledged the seating of the following elected and appointed trustees:

- Seating of School Board appointed Trustee, Cecelia Carter
- Seating of School Board appointed Trustee, Eddie Smith
- Seating of elected Trustee (4 year active), Jamekia Kendrix
- Seating of elected Trustee (2 year active), Lauren Amicone

The Board adjourned sine die.

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Carter, the Board voted to approve the appointment of Mr. Jim Roehner as Temporary Chairperson.

Mr. Roehner, presiding:

Mr. Roehner called for nominations for Board Chairperson.

Mr. Coleman moved to nominate Mr. Anthony Madry, for Chairperson. Mr. Rogers seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, on motion of Ms. Carter, seconded by Mr. Rogers nominations were closed with the consent of the Board. Mr. Roehner called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Anthony Madry, Chairperson. Mr. Anthony Madry was unanimously elected.

Anthony Madry, presiding:

Mr. Madry called for nominations for Vice-Chairperson.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Ms. Debbie Siragusa, for Vice-Chairperson. Ms. Pratt seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, on motion of Mr. Coleman, seconded by Mr. Rogers nominations were closed with the consent of the Board. Mr. Madry called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Ms. Debbie Siragusa, Vice-Chairperson. Ms. Siragusa was unanimously elected Vice-Chairperson.

Mr. Madry called for nominations for Treasurer.

Ms. Pratt moved to nominate Mr. Brian Welch, for Treasurer. Mr. Rogers seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, on motion of Ms. Carter, seconded by Ms. Pratt nominations were closed with the consent of the Board. Mr. Madry called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Brian Welch, Treasurer. Mr. Welch was unanimously elected Treasurer.

Mr. Madry called for nominations for Assistant Treasurer.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Mr. Jim Roehner, for Assistant Treasurer. Mr. Coleman seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, on motion of Mr. Roger, seconded by Mr. Welch, nominations were closed with the consent of the Board. Mr. Madry called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Jim Roehner, Assistant Treasurer. Mr. Roehner was unanimously elected Assistant Treasurer.

Mr. Madry called for nominations for Secretary.

Ms. Carter moved to nominate Mr. Jim Roehner, for Secretary. Mr. Coleman seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, on motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Mr. Welch nominations were closed with the consent of the Board. Mr. Madry called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Jim Roehner, Secretary. Mr. Roehner was unanimously elected Secretary.

Mr. Madry called for nominations for Assistant Secretary.

Ms. Carter moved to nominate Mr. Jon Dilley, for Assistant Secretary. Mr. Rogers seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, on motion of Mr. Smith, seconded by Ms. Pratt nominations were closed with the consent of the Board. Mr. Madry called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Jon Dilley, Assistant Secretary. Mr. Dilly was unanimously elected Assistant Secretary.

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Mr. Smith the Board voted to table Agenda Item C.8 Appointment of the Medical Board until confirmation is received from Clay Platte Family Medicine Clinic Physicians, including Dr. Richard Oritz, Dr. James H. McDonald, or Dr. Duane Meseyton to continue their relationship as our Medical Board.

Mr. Rogers requested research for an addition of a psychologist and/or therapist to be added to our Medical Board.

Mr. Madry asked Nancy Giddens and Shannon Cooper to report the 2022 Missouri Legislative Summary. Ms. Giddens summarized the major issues the legislation has introduced to date in their current session. She informed the Board that they continue to monitor for any legislation introduced that could affect our Retirement System. Ms. Carter requested Ms. Giddens to send to our Trustees information listing current Missouri legislators and committee members.

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Siragusa, the Board voted to receive and file the 2022 Missouri Legislative Summary.

Mr. Madry asked for discussion regarding the 2021 interest rate to be credited to eligible active members' accounts. Mr. Roehner reviewed the information regarding the 2021 interest rate to be credited to eligible active members' accounts and recommended the interest rate to be .14%, the median rate of the 1-, 2-, 3-, and 5-year Treasury Bill on January 4, 2021, per Board policy. On motion of Ms. Siragusa, seconded by Ms. Carter, the Board voted to approve the 2021 interest rate of .14% to be credited to eligible active members' accounts.

## **Report of Chairperson**

Mr. Madry and Board Trustees thanked Mr. Coleman for his 14 years of service as Board Chairperson. Mr. Madry asked the Board to communicate their intentions for committee assignments for 2022 in the upcoming weeks to him.

## **Report of the Executive Director**

Mr. Roehner provided his report on operational, communication, and Board Issues. Mr. Roehner reported staff continues to work on the completion of New Trustees Orientation for new board members, fiscal notes, sunshine requests, newsletters and 1099R's.

Mr. Roehner reminded the Trustees immediately following the Board Meeting of the Board in-house training session presented by Nancy Giddens, a 1-hour training session on Legislative Process: How a bill becomes law.

# **Other Business**

The Board adjourned by common consent at 5:12 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jim Rockmen

Jim Roehner, Executive Director