

## MINUTES OF MEETING

Monday, January 6, 2020

The Board of Trustees of the Kansas City Public School Retirement System met in REGULAR SESSION on Monday, January 6, 2020 at 4:00 p.m. in the Retirement System office conference room at 3100 Broadway, Suite 1211, Kansas City, MO.

| Members Present: | Horace Coleman, Jr., Chairperson<br>Mark Bedell<br>Joanne Collins<br>Anthony Madry<br>Roger Offield<br>Beverly Pratt<br>Curtis L. Rogers<br>Von Smalley<br>Brian Welch |
|------------------|--|
| Members Absent:  | Javier Alfonso<br>Debbie Siragusa  |
| Staff Present:   | Christine Gierer, Executive Director<br>Jill Chaloupka<br>Laura J. Oswald  |
| Others Present:  | Rosemary Guillette, Segal Marco Advisors<br>Mark Flaherty, Esq.  |

There being a quorum present, the meeting was called to order at 4:17 p.m.

Horace Coleman, Jr., Chairperson presiding:

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Pratt the Board voted to approve the following items on the consent agenda:

Approval of the minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees held Monday, December 2, 2019

Approval of the minutes of the Investment Committee meeting held Monday, December 2, 2019

Approval of the minutes of the Policy and Evaluation Committee meeting held on Monday,

December 2, 2019

Approval of cash disbursements for the month of November 2019

Approval of the report of the Secretary submitting the names of members retiring since last report including dates of retirement

Approval of the Secretary submitting the names of members who have passed away since the last report

The Board acknowledged the seating of the newly elected trustees:

- Seating of elected Trustee, (4 year active), Javier Alfonso
- Seating of elected Trustee, (3 year active), Anthony Madry
- Seating of elected Trustee, (2 year active), Von Smalley

The Board adjourned sine die.

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Mr. Smalley, the Board voted to approve the appointment of Ms. Christine Gierer as Temporary Chairperson.

Ms. Gierer, presiding:

Ms. Gierer called for nominations for Board Chairperson.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Mr. Horace Coleman, Jr., for Chairperson. Ms. Collins seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Ms. Gierer called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Horace Coleman, Jr., Chairperson. Mr. Horace Coleman, Jr. was unanimously elected Chairperson.

Horace Coleman, Jr., presiding:

Mr. Coleman called for nominations for Vice–Chairperson.

Mr. Coleman moved to nominate Mr. Curtis L. Rogers, for Vice-Chairperson. Ms. Collins seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Curtis L. Rogers, Vice-Chairperson. Mr. Rogers was unanimously elected Vice-Chairperson.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Treasurer.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Ms. Debbie Siragusa, for Treasurer. Ms. Pratt seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Ms. Debbie Siragusa, Treasurer. Ms. Siragusa was unanimously elected Treasurer.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Assistant Treasurer.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Ms. Christine Gierer for Assistant Treasurer. Mr. Welch seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Ms. Christine Gierer, Assistant Treasurer. Ms. Gierer was unanimously elected Assistant Treasurer.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Secretary.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Ms. Christine Gierer for Secretary. Dr. Bedell seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Ms. Christine Gierer, Secretary. Ms. Gierer was unanimously elected Secretary.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Mr. Mark Flaherty for Assistant Secretary. Dr. Bedell seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Mark Flaherty, Assistant Secretary. Mr. Flaherty was unanimously elected Assistant Secretary.

On motion of Ms. Pratt, seconded by Mr. Rogers, the Board voted to appoint Clay Platte Family Medicine Clinic, including, but not limited to the following physicians to the Medical Board:

Dr. Richard Oritz, Dr. James H. McDonald, Dr. Duana Meseyton

Mr. Coleman asked for discussion regarding the 2019 interest rate to be credited to eligible active members' accounts. Ms. Collins, Chairperson for the Legislative and Benefits Committee and Ms. Gierer reviewed the information.

On motion of Ms. Collins, seconded by Mr. Rogers, the Board failed to pass the motion setting the 2019 interest rate at 2.49% (the five-year Treasury rate) for eligible active member's account. After discussion the Board requested the Legislative and Benefits Committee review the interest rate information and recommend a rate at the February's Board meeting.

Mr. Coleman asked for discussion regarding the statement drafted to Fisher Investments. After discussion, on motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Pratt, the Board approved the letter to Fisher investments with the small changes as discussed.

## **Report of Chairperson**

Mr. Coleman asked the Board to communicate their intentions for committee assignments and trustee educational opportunities for 2020 in the upcoming weeks to him.

## **Report of the Executive Director**

Ms. Gierer provided her report on operational, communication, and Board issues. Ms. Gierer updated the Board on the progress of several continuous projects. Ms. Gierer reported her verification with employers of the new contribution rate (12%) effective this month and requested employers to share employee work emails for future communication by the system. Ms. Gierer informed the Board of the swearing in performed by Honorable Judge Midkiff on December 17<sup>th</sup>, for the new Trustee, Javier Alfonso, who will serve through December 31, 2023.

## **Other Business**

Mr. Rogers mentioned his concerns on discriminatory practices with JPMorgan mentioned in a couple of articles in December 2019. Ms. Gierer will email links to these articles to the Board.

Policy and Evaluation committee will meet on January 23<sup>rd</sup> at 4:00 p.m.

The Board adjourned by common consent at 5:23 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Christine Gierer

Christine Gierer, Executive Director