

3100 Broadway, Suite 1211 Kansas City, MO 64111 816.472.5800 www.kcpsrs.org

MINUTES OF MEETING

Monday, January 7, 2019

The Board of Trustees of the Kansas City Public School Retirement System met in REGULAR SESSION on Monday, January 7, 2019 at 4:00 p.m. in the Retirement System office conference room at 3100 Broadway, Suite 1211, Kansas City, MO.

Members Present: Horace Coleman, Jr., Chairperson

Mark Bedell
Joanne Collins
Carl Evans
Beverly Pratt
Curtis Rogers
Debbie Siragusa
Lazona Stovall
Boni Tolson
Bakari Ukuu
Brian Welch

Members Absent: Roger Offield

Staff Present: Christine Gierer, Executive Director

Jill Chaloupka Laura J. Oswald

Others Present: Tom Clarkson, Pantheon

Sara Lonergan, Pantheon

Rosemary Guillette, Segal Marco Advisors

Mark Flaherty, Esq.

Ruth Hays, Esq., Husch Blackwell LLC

There being a quorum present, the meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m.

Horace Coleman, Jr., Chairperson presiding:

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Mr. Evans the Board voted to approve the following items on the consent agenda:

Approval of the minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees held Monday, December 3, 2018

Approval of the minutes of the Investment Committee meeting held Monday, December 3, 2018

Approval of cash disbursements for the month of November 2018

Approval of the report of the Secretary submitting the names of members retiring since last report including dates of retirement

Approval of the Secretary submitting the names of members who have passed away since the last report

The Board acknowledged the seating of the newly elected and appointed trustees:

- Seating of School Board appointed Trustee (4 year term), Horace Coleman, Jr.
- Seating of Public Library appointed Trustee (4 year term), Debbie Siragusa
- Seating of elected Trustee, (4 year active), Bakari Ukuu
- Seating of elected Trustee, (4 year retired), Curtis Rogers

The Board adjourned sine die.

On motion of Mr. Coleman, seconded by Mr. Rogers, the Board voted to approve the appointment of Ms. Christine Gierer as Temporary Chairperson.

Ms. Gierer, presiding:

Ms. Gierer called for nominations for Board Chairperson.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Mr. Horace Coleman, Jr., for Chairperson. Ms. Tolson seconded the nomination. On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Mr. Evans, the nominations were closed with the consent of the Board.

Ms. Gierer called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Horace Coleman, Jr., Chairperson. Mr. Horace Coleman, Jr. was unanimously elected Chairperson.

Horace Coleman, Jr., presiding:

Mr. Coleman called for nominations for Vice–Chairperson.

Mr. Evans moved to nominate Mr. Curtis L. Rogers, for Vice-Chairperson. Ms. Tolson seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Curtis L. Rogers, Vice-Chairperson. Mr. Rogers was unanimously elected Vice-Chairperson.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Treasurer.

Ms. Pratt moved to nominate Ms. Debbie Siragusa, for Treasurer. Mr. Ukuu seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Ms. Debbie Siragusa, Treasurer. Ms. Siragusa was unanimously elected Treasurer.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Assistant Treasurer.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Ms. Christine Gierer for Assistant Treasurer. Mr. Evans seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Ms. Christine Gierer, Assistant Treasurer. Ms. Gierer was unanimously elected Assistant Treasurer.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Secretary.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Ms. Christine Gierer for Secretary. Mr. Evans seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Ms. Christine Gierer, Secretary. Ms. Gierer was unanimously elected Secretary.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Mr. Mark Flaherty for Assistant Secretary. Mr. Evans seconded the nomination. Seeing no other nominations, nominations were closed. Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Mark Flaherty, Assistant Secretary. Mr. Flaherty was unanimously elected Assistant Secretary.

On motion of Ms. Collins, seconded by Ms. Siragusa, the Board voted to appoint Clay Platte Family Medicine Clinic, including, but not limited to the following physicians to the Medical Board:

Dr. Richard Oritz, Dr. James H. McDonald, Dr. Duana Meseyton

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Mr. Evans the Board voted to receive and file the report of Pantheon, as presented by Mr. Clarkson and Ms. Lonergan.

Mr. Coleman called for the report of the Legislative and Benefits Committee.

Ms. Collins, Chairperson for the Legislative and Benefits Committee, reviewed the information regarding the 2018 interest rate to be credited to eligible active members' accounts, and the committee recommends the interest rate to be 1.92%. On motion of Ms. Collins, seconded by Mr. Rogers, the Board voted to approve the 2018 interest rate of 1.92% to be credited to eligible active members' accounts.

Ms. Collins summarized the 2018 Missouri Legislative Summary presented by the Giddens Group.

Mr. Coleman called for discussion of the Policy and Evaluation Committee's proposed recommendations for the Board Policy revisions and the review of Professional Contracts. After some discussion on motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Mr. Evans, the Board approved the Policy and Evaluation Committee's revisions and recommendations with the revised wording.

Report of Chairperson

Mr. Coleman asked the Board to communicate their intentions for committee assignments for 2019 in the upcoming weeks to him.

Report of the Executive Director

Ms. Gierer provided her report on operational, communication, and Board issues.

Ms. Gierer reported that the January 2019 Newsletters had been distributed to retired members and will be emailed to active members this week. The 75th Anniversary Ad Hoc Committee will meet Monday, January 14th at 4:00 p.m.

Other Business

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Collins, the Board voted to go into Executive Session, with Trustees Bedell, Coleman, Collins, Evans, Pratt, Rogers, Siragusa, Stovall, Tolson, Ukuu, and Welch, voting in favor at 5:15 p.m. The Board came out of Executive Session at 5:23 p.m.

The Board adjourned by common consent at 5:23 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Christine Gierer, Executive Director

Christine Dierer