

3100 Broadway, Suite 1211 Kansas City, MO 64111 816.472.5800

www.kcpsrs.org

KANSAS CITY PUBLIC SCHOOL RETIREMENT SYSTEM

MINUTES OF MEETING

Monday, January 9, 2017

The Board of Trustees of the Kansas City Public School Retirement System met in REGULAR SESSION on Monday, January 9, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. in the Retirement System office conference room at 3100 Broadway, Suite 1211, Kansas City, MO.

Members Present: Horace Coleman, Jr., Chairperson

Joanne M. Collins

Carl Evans

Princeston E. Grayson

Roger Offield Beverly Pratt Curtis L. Rogers Debbie Siragusa Linda E. Watkins

Members Absent: Mark T. Bedell

Staff Present: Christine Gierer, Executive Director

Shannon McClain Laura J. Oswald

Others Present: David W, Price, II

Mark Flaherty, Esq.

Rosemary Guillette, Segal Rogerscasey

Marsha Chappelow, Ph.D., Missouri Department of Elementary &

Secondary Education (DESE)

Jerry Kitzi, Office of Early Learning at Kansas City Public Schools

There being a quorum present, the meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m.

Horace Coleman, Jr, Chairperson presiding:

On motion of Ms. Collins, seconded by Mr. Evans, the Board voted to approve the following items on the consent agenda:

Approval of the minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees held Monday, December 5, 2016

Approval of the minutes of the Investment Committee meeting held December 5, 2016

Approval of the minutes of the Mission Statement Task Force held November 14, 2016 and December 12, 2016

Approval of cash disbursements for the month of November 2016

Approval of the report of the Secretary submitting the names of members retiring since last report including dates of retirement

Approval of the Secretary submitting the names of members who have passed away since the last report

The Board adjourned sine die.

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Mr. Evans, the Board voted to approve the appointment of Ms. Christine Gierer as Temporary Chairperson.

Ms. Gierer, presiding:

Ms. Gierer called for nominations for Board Chairperson.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Mr. Horace Coleman Jr., for Chairperson. Ms. Siragusa seconded the nomination. On motion of Ms. Collins, seconded by Mr. Evans, the nominations were closed with the consent of the Board.

Ms. Gierer called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Horace Coleman Jr., Chairperson. On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Siragusa the Board elected Mr. Horace Coleman Jr., as Chairperson.

Horace Coleman, Jr., presiding:

Mr. Coleman called for nominations for Vice–Chairperson.

Mr. Coleman moved to nominate Mr. Curtis L. Rogers, for Vice-Chairperson. Ms. Collins seconded the nomination. On motion of Ms. Collins, seconded by Mr. Evans, the nominations were closed with the consent of the Board.

Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Mr. Curtis L. Rogers, Vice-Chairperson. On motion of Mr. Coleman, seconded by Ms. Collins, the Board elected Mr. Curtis L. Rogers as Vice-Chairperson.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Treasurer.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Ms. Joanne M. Collins, for Treasurer. Ms. Siragusa seconded the nomination. On motion of Ms. Siragusa, seconded by Ms. Watkins, the nominations were closed with the consent of the Board.

Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Ms. Joanne M. Collins, Treasurer. On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Siragusa, the Board elected Ms. Joanne M. Collins as Treasurer.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Assistant Treasurer.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Ms. Christine Gierer for Assistant Treasurer. Ms. Collins seconded the nomination. On motion of Ms. Collins, seconded by Mr. Evans, the nominations were closed with the consent of the Board.

Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Ms. Christine Gierer, Assistant Treasurer. On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Collins, the Board elected Ms. Christine Gierer as Assistant Treasurer.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Board Secretary.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Ms. Christine Gierer for Board Secretary. Ms. Collins seconded the nomination. On motion of Ms. Collins, seconded by Mr. Evans, the nominations were closed with the consent of the Board.

Mr. Coleman called for the vote to elect the sole nominee, Ms. Christine Gierer, Board Secretary. On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Collins, the Board elected Ms. Christine Gierer as Board Secretary.

Mr. Coleman asked for nominations for Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Rogers moved to nominate Mr. Mark Flaherty for Assistant Secretary. Ms. Siragusa seconded the nomination. On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Ms. Collins, the Board elected Mr. Mark Flaherty as Assistant Secretary.

On motion of Ms. Collins, seconded by Mr. Rogers, the Board voted to appoint the following doctors to the Medical Board:

Dr. Richard Oritz, Dr. James H. McDonald, Dr. Duana Meseyton

Dr. Danny K. Stanton

Dr. Michael W. Smith

Mr. Coleman requested the Charter School Presentation by Dr. Marsha Chappelow, KC Charter Schools' Field Director, and Jerry Kitzi, Director, Office of Early Learning at Kansas City Public Schools.

Mr. Coleman called for the report of the Legislative and Benefits Committee.

Ms. Collins reported that the Legislative and Benefits Committee reviewed the information regarding the 2016 interest rate to be credited to eligible active members' accounts, and determined the interest rate to be 1.73%. On motion of Mr. Coleman, seconded by Mr. Rogers, the Board voted to approve the 2016

interest rate of 1.73% to be credited to eligible active members' accounts.

Ms. Collins continued to report that the Giddens Group sent their report including a list of bills that are of specific interest, which will be monitored by the Giddens Group. Ms. Gierer communicated that she asked the consultants to approach the sponsor of House Bill 305 to rephrase the language currently in the bill to adhere closer to the language decided upon by KCPSRS.

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Mr. Coleman, the Board voted to file and receive the Legislative and Benefits Committee report.

Report of Chairperson

Mr. Coleman communicated the January 6, 2017 passing of Anita Palmer Hackley who served as President of the Olney Retired Teachers, Vice-President of District IX Retired Teachers, and served on the Texas Teacher Retirement System Board of Directors.

Mr. Coleman asked the Board to communicate their intentions to attend 2017 educational opportunities and due diligence site visits. He requested that Trustees email him the committees on which they would like to serve.

Mr. Coleman invited the Board to the February 2nd swearing-in ceremony of Mr. David W. Price, II and the new School Board appointee. A celebration of service reception in recognition of Mr. Alexander P. Ellison will follow.

Mr. Coleman communicated that Mr. Richard O. Brown was assigned to the Missouri General Assembly's Joint Committee on Public Employee Retirement.

On motion of Mr. Rogers, seconded by Mr. Coleman, the Board voted to go into closed session.

Report of the Executive Director

Ms. Gierer provided her report on operational, communication, and Board issues.

Other Business

Mr. Rogers shared that he received positive feedback from retirees regarding the January 2017 issue of the KCPSRS newsletter. He stated further that Mrs. Stephanie Cole and Mr. George Helmkamp both confirmed the receipt of resolutions of their departed spouses, Mr. Clarence Cole and Mrs. Caroline Helmkamp respectively.

The Board adjourned by common consent at 6:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Christine Gierer

Christine Gierer, Executive Director